Gerard Way Branches Into Graphic Novel

This was posted a few weeks ago, but as news is a little slow right now, I figured I may aswell post it. FT.com published an article on 16th April about “pop stars” branching out into graphic novels. The first part mentions Gerard’s work on The Umbrella Academy and appearance at London’s Forbidden Planet megastore back in 2007.

“The cult entertainment department store just off Covent Garden was normally a quiet place: geeky adult males wrapped around Star Trek paraphernalia, engrossed in the latest Garth Ennis tome or eyeing up the limited edition Street Fighter figurines. But that day was different. A sea of figures dressed in black threatened to engulf the whole building. It was a blur of skeleton hoodies and faces hidden beneath layers of kohl eyeliner and hennaed hair, as scores of scowling teenagers lined the pavement. They were waiting for a chance to meet their hero…”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gerard Way Branches Into Graphic Novel

  1. LinTu says:

    I’ve seen Gerard’s comics only on the Internet. I sure wish I could get my hands on one of the issues but it’s absolutely impossible to find one in my country. We don’t even have normal comic book shops here šŸ˜”

  2. A$H says:

    That sucks, LinTu. You don’t have any good magazines or comics where you live… I got both UA volumes at the Barnes & Noble bookstore, because there are no actual comic book shops near me either. They’re both amazing, though. You should be able to order them online though, if you really wanted them.

  3. LinTu says:

    Yeah I’ve thought of the online order thing but my mom said “Forget it!”. For some reason she’s afraid to buy stuff off the Internet, she says someone will steal her personal details or something. Once I ordered a DVD off the Internet without her permition and she found out and she almost kicked me out of home šŸ˜€ Anyway, I went to a very huge book store in the capital and there I asked one of the employees about “The Umbrella Academy” and he said that they’ll have some new stuff later this month and maybe they’ll have the comic too. So keep your fingers crossed šŸ˜€

  4. A$H says:

    OK, I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

Leave a Reply

