My Chemical Romance’s “Sing” Featured In American Idol Advert

American Idol Logo

American Idol Logo

My Chemical Romance’s latest single, “Sing” is set to appear in adverts for American Idol 10.

“The offer was pretty much a no-brainer. Any kind of infiltration is great… It’s something a lot of people are going to see and they’ll hear the music which is the most important thing.”
Gerard Way – HollywoodReporter.com – November 2010

“I think it would be really cool if an actual band was heard on the biggest music TV show.”
Frank Iero – HollywoodReporter.com – November 2010

Adverts for the 10th season of American Idol are set to begin on Saturday night.

This entry was posted in Killjoys. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to My Chemical Romance’s “Sing” Featured In American Idol Advert

  1. tinewashere says:

    ‘Any kind of infiltration is great… It’s something a lot of people are going to see and they’ll hear the music which is the most important thing.’
    errr.. not really agreeing with this /: i dislike american idol and anything that’s affiliated with simon cowell. it’s just my personal opinion though.

    • Chris says:

      I’m 100% with you tinewashere. I’m actually really bummed out about this. I hate that show and what it represents. I think it’s an insult to real artists. I’m really surprised that MCR affiliated with it. I expected them to be very anti-American Idol. Although, that said, there’s obviously money to be made here. I never had them down as that sort of band though. 😐

  2. LinTu says:

    Look at what Frank said. Maybe they’ve had enough with hearing stupid music on TV and decided to show what real music sounds like. I think they just want to share their music with more and more people. I don’t like American Idol too, I hate reality shows, but let’s face it – 90% of the people watch them. Maybe MCR thought that even if they made 10 out of those millions of people, who watch those shows, listen to their music, then they’ve done what they do best – share good music. This is just my opinion though.

  3. tinewashere says:

    LinTu – that just isn’t what music is about imo. You shouldn’t have to use music in movies or adverts unless it’s something that interests. I undestood the whole desolation row thing because they’re comic freaks so doing a song for one of their favourite comics is just fucking badass. But doing a song for a talented show so commercial and just downright bad is something I don’t understand. It’s something they’ve never agreed to before, and American Idol has absolutely nothing to do with MCR in any way. As Chris said, it seems as though it’s just for them to earn some quick money, and that really is exactly what they’ve always said they were against.
    They shouldn’t feel the need to use their song in an advert just because it gets their music out there. They’ve said they didn’t care if they played for 30 kids or 3000 – so why the hell should they use the song in an advert in order to get more listeners?
    I really hope they’re only going to be doing this kind of thing once, ’cause it’s really annoying quite a bit.

  4. tinewashere says:

    Oh God, pardon my horrible, horrible grammar and spelling.. English isn’t my native language and I didn’t double read the whole thing.

  5. Skydog says:

    You both make good points. But i still am leaning towards they are using this to attract more listeners… (obviously than it leads to making more $ which is what they won’t tell us)
    I just don’t see anyone who watches Idol liking MCR anyway?
    LOL…. Old granny jammin to Destroya! FTW!

  6. Skydog says:

    PS. Simon Cowell left the show.. therefore he has nothing to do with this show anymore.

    Ps#2 (lol). I disagree that all the people on the show are not “artist”. Some actually CAN sing… unlike gerard (that’s not an insult.. it’s truth…)
    I’m not a fan of idol at all.. but i’ve heard some of the people on TV sing and they are better than HALF of todays music scene live.
    Today’s music sing is all Autotuned bullshit like Ke$ha, Miley Cyrus, and Justin Bieber… so it’s better than MCR doing a song with Ke$ha isn’t it?

  7. Ash says:

    As much as I don’t want to believe it, I’m sure that money played at least a minor role in this decision, but we’ll never know for sure. I absolutely despise the show though. I’m gonna just have to put up with it, since, sadly, my parents love it. It’ll probably be twice as painful hearing someone do a shitty My Chem cover.

  8. Ash says:

    Haha forget my “shitty cover” comment, I just saw the words “American Idol” and assumed people would be singing it, not using it in adverts. I’m a bit slow today. Unless they can use it in auditions too…

  9. Skydog says:

    Don’t really think they allow them to sing much modern music (other than overproduced pop)

  10. Ash says:

    Hm yeah true. Which kinda sucks, cuz maybe if they could choose halfway decent music, it might actually be somewhat bearable. I really don’t think anything could convince me to watch it though.

  11. Skydog says:

    Like obviously screamo shouldn’t be on the show, because honestly that’s not singing.

    But they do need more band oriented music that’s not Queen, Bon Jovi etc. (because most those songs shouldn’t be touched anyway.. Queen Should NEVER be covered.)

  12. Skydog says:

    My mom watches the show and i have to hear them cover Queen and it makes me gag… I’m a huge Queen fan.

  13. Cryptic says:

    Look at the new album. It’s more commercial, more mainstream, more geared towards radio play. They’re looking to target a new audience and this is the perfect place to do it. They missed out on cashing in on Twilight so I’m sure this will be a way for them to earn some cash.

    If Gerard and the band didn’t always talk about how against they were using/writing songs for money/attention and insulted bands like Paramore (not that I like Paramore) calling them “kids” for writing songs for the movie then I wouldn’t have a problem with it and I’m sure a lot of fans wouldn’t. No big deal in doing this for money, the music business is shit and they probably don’t make much money off the albums…and hey the money will help their families, but saying one thing and dissing other bands and then going and doing the same thing you say you’re against is kind of bull shit. Don’t even open your mouth and say it.

  14. Rina says:

    Honestly, I’m a bit of an Idol-watcher. It’s something my whole family loves, and we’ve been watching for years. These past couple seasons have kind of turned me off the show, though. So it isn’t like there are NO MCR fans that watch the show.
    I personally don’t know how to feel about this. My gut instinct says that this isn’t really MCR’s kind of thing…

  15. Michael says:

    I think its great. Who cares if its for$$. They deserve it! And what a great song to pimp their show. I’ll smile everytime I hear it.

  16. QKC says:

    Huh…and this coming from a band who previously slammed all types of reality shows…One word…Hypocrites.

Leave a Reply

